Book 1 – Psalm 13 of 41: Jesus’ cry

Just as the Old Testament saints looked forward to the Son’s coming, to the Father’s Word of words breaking into the darkness of the age, so also we often ask of Christ’s second return:

  • How long O LORD?
  • How long will you hide your face from me?
  • How long must I take counsel in my soul and have sorrow in my heart all the day?
  • How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

Yet, these are but caused by the lies of the enemy who thinks he has prevailed over us. Instead, we trust His steadfast love – let us rejoice in His victory achieved on the cross. I will sing to the LORD – just as Christ sang to the Father on the cross. Are these not the words of Jesus when he hung on the tree? How long, Father, will you hide your face from me? How long until I am risen again on the third day? If Christ too suffered at the hands of the enemy but was exalted as promised, so we too, as sufferers, take refuge in the One who suffered and rose again. Let us sing as the victory is ours now, that we do not sleep the sleep of death but we proclaim the song of life!

Book 1 – Psalm 13 of 41: Jesus’ cry

Leave a Reply

