Deuteronomy and Joshua

Hey peeps,

I’ve just started work at a law firm in Hong Kong.  Would appreciate some prayers:

1.  That I have opportunities to share the gospel

2.  That I’m not afraid to lose my job as a result of His calling (though I need the money for the wedding and other things to come, I know He will provide nonetheless if I stick to His guns!)

3.  In relation to (2), that I’m *sure* it is His calling to speak at a particular time – so I must be sensitive to the Spirit!

4.  That He will give me some inspiration to set up a regular method through which I can speak to people about Jesus, and to raise up brothers and sisters who can start up the group with me as an OUTREACH rather than a “self-support” group per se.

Thanks!

On top of prayer requests, here is my Deuteronomy commentary which has been long time coming (also on the sermons/paper page).  I’ve also updated my Genesis commentary document, because I realised that I didn’t copy and paste the last part of chapter 49 and chapter 50 to the word document (though I wrote about them on this site).  Also added a “Pentateuch” page to gather the five commentaries so far, ending an “arc” per se of commenting on Moses’ books (until we return to his psalms in the books of Psalms!).

Finally, I’ve added a “Why Jesus?” page, because I realise that there are probably just as many Christians as non-Christians stumbling on this site.

Hope to resume blogging chapter by chapter beginning with the book of Joshua sometime this week!

Deuteronomy and Joshua

2 thoughts on “Deuteronomy and Joshua

  1. Wing says:

    Just wanted to say I found your blog on “mission in china” ( which I can’t leave comments on anymore) very helpful, especially your first point on Spiritual Warfare and the spirit of fear. I too find the gifts of tongues, prophecy and healing interesting, which my ex was heavily involved in, but sometimes I found it quite uncomfortable how heavily they (him and his church) relied on the spirit, and the idea of baptism of the spirit ( which I am still trying to grasp) I am not saying it is wrong, but it is not what I am used to seeing at AS.
    I’ve found AS recent sermon service on 1 Cor 12-14 helpful, as well as some of Mars Hill sermon series on the same book.

    Also, we had an ex-SWOT dinner last night, and it was extremely encouraging to hear (from Cadence) about your travels Xining and the serving you are planning in HK, keep up the good work of spreading the gospel! 🙂

  2. Jacky says:

    Wing>
    Thanks! 🙂 Hopefully that blog won’t just die out, but I’ll keep using it to update the stuff happening in Hong Kong.

    It’s never easy finding a ‘balance’ per se on how to view the Spiritual gifts because they are truly unique and edifying. We should still seek these higher gifts, just as we seek to be better teachers, pastors, and whatever other vocation that God has gifted us – of course, not to the point where it is just a sound and clatter but founded on love. Sorry to hear about your ex who did not lead you into being more comfortable with the Spirit; it’s a sensitive topic being where we’re from (AS), and I’m sure all charismatics/Pentecostals are burdened with the duty to be more sensitive about it, as long as they are truly using these gifts for His glory 🙂

    Praying for your potential opportunity to do missions in China, whether in the form of teacher or not! Once again, thanks for the encouragement as well, praise Him!

Leave a Reply

